About the Fire District


mapThe Rancho Santa Fe Fire Protection District was formed on October 14, 1946, under an order adopted by the County Board of Supervisors. At the time, the Fire District was comprised of one Chief and 15 volunteer suppression personnel who protected an estimated 3,800 residents.

Today, the Fire District now spans approximately 38-square miles and protects over 29,000 citizens. What was once an all-volunteer force operating out of a single fire station is now a full-time fire protection agency comprised of one Chief, one Deputy Chief, one Battalion Chief/Training Officer, three Battalion Chiefs, 39 paid fire suppression positions, and three fire prevention positions, as well as administrative and support staff.

The Fire District is governed by a five-person elected Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for establishing policies, guidelines and providing direction for Fire District staff. Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month at 1:00 p.m.

The Fire District currently operates out of four full-time fire stations and an administration office serving communities within and surrounding Rancho Santa Fe, 4S-Ranch, Fairbanks Ranch, Cielo, and The Crosby.